Schedules & Calendars » Liturgical Year

Liturgical Year

  • The liturgical year is made up of six seasons:

    • Advent - four weeks of preparation before the celebration of Jesus' birth
    • Christmas - recalling the Nativity of Jesus Christ and his manifestation to the peoples of the world
    • Lent - a six-week period of penance before Easter
    • Sacred Paschal Triduum - the holiest "Three Days" of the Church's year, where the Christian people recall the suffering, death, and resurrection of Jesus
    • Easter - 50 days of joyful celebration of the Lord's resurrection from the dead and his sending forth of the Holy Spirit
    • Ordinary Time - divided into two sections (one span of 4-8 weeks after Christmas Time and another lasting about six months after Easter Time), wherein the faithful consider the fullness of Jesus' teachings and works among his people